If you go to the Settings menu (1) and the Administrators submenu (2), you’ll see a list of all the administrators in the system. You may notice, that the third column in the list is the role field (3). A role is given to an Administrator when their account is created, but can be edited by a Superuser (or someone with this specific permission) at any time by clicking on the wrench sign (4) behind the administrator’s details and selecting Edit details (5).
A role is basically a set of permissions that gather together under a role name. These can be seen on the Administrator’s profile during creation or while editing. The roles are in the Permissions (6) section that is at the bottom of the profile page.
There are seven preset roles – Superuser, Admissions administrator, Academic supervisor, Marketing administrator, Content administrator, Courses administrator and Accountant. They all have preset permissions that can be seen and edited when you tick the “Add additional permissions (advanced)” box (7) just below the list of roles. Once ticked, a list of all the permissions opens up and it’s possible to change the preset permissions as you choose by ticking and unticking the necessary boxes, or even deselect the preset role and only pick some advanced permissions that you think will suit the Administrator’s needs the best. An Administrator can also have more than one role assigned to them, this just means they have the combined permissions of these roles.
A Superuser is the only one with all the permissions and this cannot be changed. Every system has one or two in-house Superusers assigned during setup, plus additional DreamApply Superusers for support purposes. The Superuser role should not be given out freely for everyday use, as this makes the system too vulnerable, by making the Settings menu available to all the Superusers.
By default, the Admissions administrator role allows working with applications, confirming offers etc.
By default, an Academic supervisor has read-only access to applications and the ability to add flags.
By default, a Marketing administrator has read-only access to applications, plus marketing tools and content.
By default, the Content administrator role allows managing news, events and menu content
By default, the Courses administrator role allows updating course info, admission requirements, intakes etc
By default, an Accountant has read-only access to applications and invoices
As mentioned before, these default settings can be adjusted to give Administrators more or fewer permissions
Scroll up and down the list of additional permissions to select and deselect according to your needs. A superuser’s settings cannot be changed, but all other roles’ settings can.
When you’re done, make sure you click on the “Save changes” button (9)!